My top 4 tips to improve the quality of your campaign

Don’t know how to get your campaign to the next level ?
Here are 4 easy steps you can start with.

1. Make sure the traffic is 100% non-incent and direct

You will only get users who want to use your app. Here at AdBuddiz, we guarantee that our traffic serves only non-incentivized ads.

This way, you are sure that the users who install your app have a true interest for it and are not getting rewarded with in-app currency in exchange for the installation.

In addition, the traffic you’ll get is coming only from direct app developers who integrated our SDK:

puzzle-1020413_960_720– You can be sure of the quality of the traffic (if the ad network you are working with is doing media buying, you are probably going to have no visibility on where you are getting your traffic from)

– You can optimize the campaigns according to each publisher’s performance

2. Diversify your geos

One of our best examples is probably a campaign for a War/Strategy game that is now in the top ranks worldwide. At that time, the advertiser was struggling to get more volume.

10012162166_6e611105c5_oWe advised him to try less competitive geos with the possibility to get high volume for a lower CPI. Quickly the campaign was extended to 20+ more geos with a various range of CPIs.

 

Even though the users ARPU in these countries were lower than in the Tier 1 countries, the game still managed to find a lot of ROI positive users.

3. Localize

After running a specific campaign for months with the english creatives produced by the advertiser, we received new creatives in the following languages : French, German, Spanish, Portuguese and Russian.

Language_learningThe volumes increased by 15% in France and Germany. In Spain, we observed a 20% increase. The highest performance was in Brazil and Russia, where we generated over 30% more installs.

4. Review your creativesandroid

You may consider working on your creatives in order to optimize your campaign. If you haven’t already, check my last article on the top 3 creatives mistakes advertisers make.

Top 3 creatives mistakes advertisers make

Today, I would like to share with you some of the common mistakes I have seen throughout my experience as a Campaign Manager.

1. Not inviting to download

When a user sees the ad, it will take him less than 2 seconds to figure out whether he is going to click or not. Forgetting the Call-to-Action button can be damageable.
Just pick a phrase easy to catch and use it !

These examples go straight to the point :person-woman-apple-iphone-large

« Download now »
« Install for free »
« Play today »

 

Don’t forget to add the Play Store / itunes logo !

2. Forgetting the tagline

People need to understand immediately what your app is about : what category and why they need to download it.

Here are few examples:gray-sale-label-142521329417p

« Best MMORPG game of the year ! »
« Match the candies and get rewards ! »
« Find more than 100+ travel ideas »

3. Poor design and image definition

Here are the most common mistakes I have seen :

– Using a screenshot of the app : usually unappealing, unclear. If a screenshot is relevant (an action scene from a war game), you might need to work a little on it.

– Irrelevant ad format : At AdBuddiz, we focus on interstitials because they generate higher revenues. Therefore, your ad should be able to fit a smartphone / tablet screen.

– Low definition ad : one way to know if your ad quality is ok ? Visualize it in full screen mode on your computer.


My last piece of advice ?
Don’t be afraid to hire a designer to make sure your ad has the highest chance to be clicked on. Choose the ad format with the best performance (interstitials) and make sure your ad is going to look as professional as your company.

Success Story Series : Star developer – Anthony Cardinale

This week, we’re glad to present to you Anthony Cardinale, a French indie developer and Unity specialist. He has released over 30 games on the Play Store and the App Store, many of which have more than a million downloads.

Today he’s releasing his book: « Creating games with Unity from A to Z » (in French), and he’s happy to share his thoughts on mobile development and gaming here. Please welcome Anthony :)

Doll Dismount OriginsCan you tell us a bit more about yourself and how you became a game developer?

I have been passionate about video game development since I was a kid, and I’ve always wanted to create my own games. It’s not always easy to start as a developer, but thanks to my studies and new tools like Unity 3D, I’ve been able to fulfil my dream. This software gave many indie developers a chance to create multiplatform games at lower costs.

You are a Unity expert and enthusiast, how did this game engine become your favourite? 

I discovered Unity in 2008 when they released its 3rd version. This version hurt its competitors because it was delivering a truly powerful and free tool. The new versions brought even more features to the software which is, in my opinion, the best compromise of the market. The community is gigantic, there are many resources, well-written documentation, and handling it comes naturally. Unity is available to all and anyone can start developing quality games without any difficulty. I’ve never found such ease with the other engines.

AB: You’re even releasing a book about Unity game development, can you tell us a bit more about it?

I’ve always loved sharing my passion through video tutorials on miscellaneous platforms such as Youtube. In recent years, people have been training themselves with my videos, I wanted to offer a new way to learn, and writing a book seemed like an excellent alternative to video. Books offer the readers the advantage of being held while coding without having to pause a video every 30 seconds.

This book allows the reader to learn how to create games with Unity and to go even further: monetization, maintaining and updating your game… This book answers all the questions you could have when you start creating a video game with Unity.

What is your most successful game? What do the players love about it? 

I developed several games with various thematics in order to find what the players were looking for. It turns out that my most successful game is the quite violent « Doll Dismount Origins » in which the player pushes a puppet to make him fall down. He gains points relatives to the damages taken by the puppet. The game is available on Android and iOS.

How did you learn about AdBuddiz, and what is your experience with us so far? 

When you’re publishing an app, you can’t help but ask yourself: « How can I monetize my game ? ». I had the chance to discuss with a consultant from Google several times, and he told me the best way to make money with a game is to offer it for free on the stores. Indeed, 95% of the games are free. The usual way of monetizing a free game is to display ads within it, and that’s when AdBuddiz comes in. AdBuddiz is a excellent mobile ad network for several reasons:

  • The SDK is very easy to integrate.
  • The quality of the ads
  • The documentation and example APK
  • Great customer service

Thus, I chose AdBuddiz to display ads in my Android and iOS games. The revenues generated up until now are more than decent and it’s enough to talk about a small success for an indie developer.

How do you monetize your games?

I’m mostly relying on ads. I decided to stop publishing paid games because it is not the best strategy anymore (at least for indie developers or small studios). So, I display ads in my game, between two levels for example. I also tried in-app purchases in order to offer bonuses to players who like the game.

What is the game that started it all for you, and what do you think mobile development and gaming will be like in 5-10 years?

The most successful game was also the one that allowed me to discover the potential of the market: « Doll Dismount ». That game gave me the means to finance several projects afterwards.

The mobile market is evolving very quickly, and I think that in a few years it will be totally different from today. Smart watches are coming to the market, along with virtual reality devices compatible with our smartphones… And virtual reality is growing as well… What is sure is that players will always ask for more, and they need even more sensations, immersion and features.

Would you like to add anything? :) 

I hope that the indie developers community will keep growing and that my book will help people embark on creating video games with Unity. I also wish a prosperous future to AdBuddiz, which helps developers to make a living out of their passion and create even more original new games.

 

Anthony’s book « Creating games with Unity from A to Z » is for now only available in French. You can find it here: http://www.d-booker.fr/unity3d/250-concevez-vos-jeux-de-a-a-z.html

 

Top mobile ad world acronyms you should know

CPI, CPM, Fill Rates, SDK…Interstitials…#*&$!

There are acronyms that everybody is fluent in and uses every day, even in business contexts, like TBC (To be confirmed/continued), ASAP (as soon as possible), TTYL (talk to you later) and other more casual (or, useful) acronyms like OMG, LOL, BTW and TGIF. And then there are acronyms used in the mobile advertising world that confuse and make lives difficult for everybody, and the fact that new ones keep cropping up all the time just isn’t helping. 

“Since we run on a CPI basis, the CPM is just for your reference, but if you update to our latest SDK in all your freemium apps, our new algorithm will better optimize your impressions and with our high fill rates, your ROI will definitely improve.”

If you’re thinking “is this person speaking in English?” – trust me, you’re not alone. We’ve all been there. We know how painfully annoying it is to figure out what each of those acronyms really mean and that’s why we’re here to help you get through the mayhem and become fluent in mobile marketing geek speak.

Advertiser – the person or company that advertise their apps in other apps

API – Application Programming Interface. Specifies how software components should interact with each other

Campaign – details which types of ads to show over a period, budget and target market

CPC – Cost Per Click. A pricing model in which advertisers pay a certain amount each time the user clicks on their ads

CPI – Cost Per Install. A pricing model in which advertisers pay a certain amount each time their advertised app is installed (downloaded and opened the app)

CPM – Cost Per Mile. Mile ‘thousand’ in Latin. CPM is a pricing model in which advertisers pay a certain amount for every 1000 views of their ads

CTR – Click Through Rate. The percentage of people clicking on the ad. (Number of clicks on an ad divided by the impressions)

CPA – Cost Per Action. A pricing model in which advertisers pay a certain amount each time a user performs a specific action (like reach a certain level in the advertised app)

Fill Rate – how many ads are delivered compared to how many ads are requested. The higher the fill rate, the more ads that are shown

Freemium app – A freemium app is free to install and use but have locked features that require users to pay to use

F2P game – Free 2 Play game. A game that is free to install and play but offer in-app purchases for virtual goods, features and upgrades

Impression – A view or an appearance of an ad on a mobile device

Interstitial – a full-screen ad

IAP – in-app purchases

Non-incentivised traffic – no reward given to the user for clicking on the ad or installing the advertised app

Publisher – developer who shows ads within their apps

SDK – Software Development Kit. A piece of code that permits developers to smoothly integrate ads into their app

OK, now that you’re fluent in mobile marketing geek speak, you’re ready to venture into the exhilarating and highly rewarding world of mobile advertising!

Success Story Series: Star developer – DAF

DAF is a team of two indie developers from Málaga, Spain who are having great success in the mobile game industry – doing what they love. David creates the games and Pablo creates the music.

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We are happy to feature DAF in this weeks’ Success Story Series.

1. David, can you tell us briefly about your background? How did you become an indie developer?

Years ago I used to program simple games on my PC, but my only audience was my brother and some friends. I had long been disconnected from the computer world, but then my first smartphone landed in my hands. I decided to start app development to entertain myself and earn extra income on the side (the economic crisis in Spain was at its worst). Although I did expect to eventually make a living out of it, to tell you the truth, I did not expect such success in such a short time. It was a real surprise.

2. What is your most successful game? What is its concept in a nutshell?

It is called Archanoid DEMOLITION. It’s just a clone of the classic arcade game Arkanoid, in which bricks are destroyed by bouncing a ball on a racquet.

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3. Your games have a simple yet addictive gameplay. What are your tips for creating successful mobile games? 

Although it may sound cheesy, I believe that a game can only be successful if you create it with affection. In the case of Archanoid, I had tried many clones in the Play Store, but none of them corresponded to my idea of what Arkanoid should be like, so I decided to create my own game.

How to make a game that is addictive? I guess by creating a desire in the player to surpass himself; to beat his own records or achieve certain levels and have fun while doing it.

4. Creating a game is one thing, but how do you get many people to install it? What are your promotion methods?   

I placed links to my game on a few Facebook pages of Android magazines, but I didn’t really notice an increase in the number of downloads. In my case, what really seems to have worked is word-of-mouth.

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5. Why did you choose AdBuddiz?

One day I received an email from you, inviting me to try the service. I liked how you operated and have been with you ever since.

6. What has your experience been using AdBuddiz? 

Very good. AdBuddiz ads have beautiful graphics and a very elegant design, which makes them very pleasant for the user, not annoying at all. In addition, out of the three advertising companies that I use, AdBuddiz generates the most revenue for me – twice as much as the other two.

7. What would you change about AdBuddiz?

Lately the portal has been greatly improved, we can now visualize the number of clicks and installs. Perhaps adding even more statistics would be nice.

8. Do you use any other monetizing methods apart from advertising? What combination works the best for you? 

Currently I only monetize through advertising.

9. What are your inspirations when creating a game? Where do you get your ideas from? 

The inspiration usually comes from the most unexpected places. An old comic you’re rediscovering, a film… And of course the classics, the wonderful games from arcades. The 80s is an endless source of inspiration.

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10. Do you have enough time to play yourself? What are your favorite games? 

Not much, but of course I play the odd game. I have ‘Hill Climb Racing’ and ‘Final Freeway 2’ installed in my mobile devices. On PC, I sometimes relax doing a virtual flight with Microsoft Flight Simulator X. But since you’re asking for my favorite games, I have to mention a very, very old game that gave me many hours of fun, and made me interested in how video games are made: ‘Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark’ – from the great Atari VCR console.

11. What changes in the mobile ad market do you anticipate from here until 2016? 

It is difficult to predict, but I guess more and more companies of all kinds will be created around mobile applications, not only IT companies. Perhaps in the future there won’t be much difference between the ads on apps and the ones we see on television today.

12. Where do you see DAF in 5 years’ time? 

My dream is to start a business together with some friends, but under a different name. I would like DAF to always keep the indie spirit it has now. In the near future, I would like to enter the world of Apple – at the moment I’m dedicated to Android only.

 

 

What do you need to look at when choosing an ad network?

directory-235079_960_720

Getting a high eCPM is nice but I recommend the developers who are looking for the right ad network for their apps not to forget to ask themselves the following questions:
– is the ad solution easy to integrate?
– is it going to create bugs in my app(s)?
– am I going to get paid on time?
– will I get charged with extra payment fees?
– will I get a good support when I have questions ?

At AdBuddiz, we are obviously working hard to get the highest paying campaigns and bring high eCPMs to our publishers. But we are also paying a lot of attention to these questions. And here is how we answer them:

– the integration of our SDK requires only 2 lines of code. Simplicity is our motto
– we have thousands and thousands of apps running with our SDK and they are running like a charm
– we always pay on time (and even in advance in the case of wire transfers in order to make up with the transfer time)
– we are not charging payment fees (the fees you might get when receiving a payment come from Paypal or the banks involved in the wire transfer)
– we make sure everyone gets a reply from our support team within a day

Your problems are our problems. That’s why we have a poster at the office with a Steve Jobs’ quote that says : “If a user is having a problem, it’s our problem”. Since I am the CEO of AdBuddiz, I am at your service if you have any problems or suggestions. My email is public. Feel free to drop me a line: jonathan at adbuddiz dot com

Success Story Series : Star developer – Kitmaker

This is the third post in our success story series, which spotlights the real heroes of the mobile gaming community. Our guest this week will tell us about his experience with AdBuddiz and with Giftiz, our app that helps promoting games on Google Play. Welcome to…

kitmaker_1024x1024-1

AB : First of all, can you tell us briefly who you are ?

Kitmaker : Well, Kitmaker is a young spanish company that develops mobile games and apps, and that keeps trying to improve day by day. We started in 2007 by developing J2me games. We began doing apps for Android in 2010. We are located in Palma de Mallorca, in the Balearic Islands, and have more than 60 employees.

AB : What is Kitmaker’s most successful mobile game ? What do you think contributed to its success ?

Kitmaker : On android, our most successful games right now are the Final Kombat saga. We believe that the success of these games comes from the fact that we chose the right theme and a great name.

tokyo driftfinal kombatfinal kombat 2

 

 

AB : How did you learn about AdBuddiz ?

Kitmaker : I was contacted by one of your colleagues by email, and then went to do a little bit of research on the internet about it.

AB : Some of your games got featured on Giftiz, our app that features the best games on Google Play. How did the featuring help promoting your games ?

Kitmaker :The release of our games was much better thanks to Giftiz. We benefited from many downloads at launch.

AB : You use AdBuddiz in some of your games. What’s your experience with our network ?

Kitmaker :We tried other ad networks and got better performance with you guys. We are very impressed with AdBuddiz and we are looking forward to building a long term partnership.

AB : What are the most important things you look at when choosing an ad network ?

Kitmaker : The most important thing, of course, is revenue ! Customer support is very important as well. In addition to driving us great revenues, AdBuddiz has an awesome support team that answers all of our questions very fast.

AB : What can you tell us about your team ?

Kitmaker : Currently, we are 20 people working on games. We can be more or less depending on each project. We are always sharing ideas and working side by side!

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AB : Last question, What is the mobile game that you like the most ? that you hate the most ?

Justo : « My favorite game is Infectonator! »
Manu : « I love Zombie Highway 2»

AB : Thanks a lot ! Is there anything you would like to add ?

Kitmaker : Many thanks for that entertaining interview !

You can visit Kitmaker’s blog here.

Why comparing eCPMs can lead you to compare apples and tomatoes?

   tomatoes-712955_960_720

Some developers are using the eCPM metric to compare the performance of ad networks. Let’s take the example of a developer who is testing 2 ad networks.
On network 1, he gets a $2 eCPM.
On network 2, he gets a $3 eCPM
It could be tempting for this developer to conclude that network 2 is better.

The problem is that if you do that, you are most likely comparing things that are completely different by essence.

If you are sending Eastern Europe traffic to network 1 and US traffic to network 2, it’s quite normal that the performance is not the same. The reason for that is that advertisers are willing to pay more for US than for Polish traffic. Generally speaking, there is a high chance that your traffic breakdown per country evolves over time so you won’t be comparing the same thing if the 2 tests are not conducted at the exact same time.

eCPM is nice but revenue is better!

I have talked to several developers who were reluctant to display ads if their eCPM was too low. They were simply thinking it was not worth the shot. However, a developer who has a lot of traffic in countries where advertisers propose low payouts can still make significant revenues ! So low eCPM doesn’t mean necessary low revenues !

So what other things you should look at when choosing an ad network ?
I will discuss this in my next post. Stay tuned!

eCPM: an important metric but hard to predict!

As the CEO of AdBuddiz, I have the immense pleasure to discuss with many talented developers all over the world. I also enjoy the chance to see the impact of various ad monetization strategies on their revenues. I thought it would be interesting for me to share some of the lessons I learned.

My first series of posts are going to tackle issues related to a metric that is key in this industry: eCPM.

eCPM is an important metric…

CPM stands for Cost Per Mille. It is basically your revenues for 1000 impressions.
You probably also came across a slightly different acronym, “eCPM”.
eCPM (which stands for effective CPM) is the average CPM for all your traffic volume. For instance, if you generate $1000 with 100 000 impressions, your eCPM is $10. The eCPM is a nice way to evaluate the performance of the ads in your app(s).

As a result, when choosing an ad network, many developers want to know in advance what their eCPM will be. Problem is: it is impossible to predict.

Most of the ad networks in our industry (including AdBuddiz) work on a CPI model. Indeed, it’s the most profitable model for both the advertisers and publishers. CPI (Cost Per Install) means that our publishers make money each time they generate installs for our advertisers.

Our publishers’ CPM will depend on 2 factors :
– how many installs they generate for 1000 impressions
– how much the advertisers are willing to pay for each install

Problem is : these 2 parameters can fluctuate greatly. Why is that ?

Imagine a developer who spams his users by displaying one ad every 2 seconds. Imagine another one who displays one ad every 10 minutes. With the same number of impressions, the first one will generate much less installs for the advertisers than the second one because the more frequent the ads the less likely the users will interact with them. When you watch tv, your brain is more receptive to the ads that just follow the ending of your program. If you end up on a tv channel that displays a new ad every 2 seconds, you’ll simply ignore them and change the channel. It’s the same with mobile ads :)

Advertisers propose different install payouts depending on several parameters (country of the install, device of the user, OS versions…).

Thus, it’s impossible for anyone to know the eCPM in advance. As we realize it can be quite frustrating for some developers not to have this info, we decided (at AdBuddiz) to communicate an eCPM based on observations: the calculated eCPM that we are observing among our publishers can be up to $10. We even have some very high quality publishers that sometimes reach more than $15.

Next week I’ll discuss why comparing eCPMs can lead you to compare apples and tomatoes. Stay tuned!